NeMLA Annual Book Award

NeMLA awards two Book Prizes every year for:

  • the best unpublished book-length manuscript on any of NeMLA's focal literatures, languages, media, or cultures
  • the best unpublished fiction book in English

Manuscripts cannot be under review at a press.

On this page:

Application Process

For consideration, please email the following to by November 15.

  • A copy of the manuscript
  • An overview of the proposed book (2 to 3 single-spaced pages)
  • A round-up of competing books 
  • A brief explanation of the uniqueness of the proposed project

The NeMLA book committee may opt not to give an award any given year if the manuscripts are not ready for publication.

The prizes include: 

  • A $500 cash prize
  • NeMLA's assistance with contacting presses about the publication of their manuscripts (at the winners' discretion).

The winners will be announced at the Sunday membership business meeting at NeMLA's annual convention.


  • The authors must be current NeMLA members with a demonstrated commitment to NeMLA (a convention participant, or a member for at least one year in the last five years). 
  • Manuscripts must be written in English.
  • Unrevised dissertations and MA theses will not be considered for this award.
  • Manuscripts under review or under contract with a publisher will not be considered for this award.

Past Book Award Winners